What is ISO?

What is ISO?

What is ISO?

ISO is the acronym  for International Organization for Standardization . This is the  International Organization for Standardization, and is dedicated to creating standards to ensure quality, safety and efficiency of products and services. They are the ISO standards.

The  International Organization for Standardization is currently present in 162 countries and is a non governmental and independent organisation. There are currently over 20,000 written standards covering all industries, from technology and food security, to agriculture and health.

How long have the ISO standards existed?

The ISO organisation was founded in 1926 as the International Federation of National Standardization (ISA). During World War II, it was temporarily suspended. After the war was finished, the United Nations proposed the reestablishment of an organisation of standardisation through the Coordinating Committee of Standards of the United Nations.

In 1946, representatives of 25 countries met in London. They ntended to facilitate the coordination of industry standards through international unification. It was during this meeting that laid the groundwork for what would end up being known as ISO. Finally, the organization was officially founded on February 23, 1947.

Where are the headquarters of the ISO?

ISO headquarters are currently located in Geneva, Switzerland. Furthermore, the ISO works in 162 countries around the world.

ISO member countries

The ISO organization has 163 member countries divided into three categories: body, correspondents and subscribers.

  • Body: National Bodies that are considered the ultimate representation of the country and only members of the organisation with voting rights.
  • Correspondents: These members do not have their own standards organisation in their country. ISO standards operate in these countries but do not participate in the creation of these standards.
  • Subscribers: They are smaller countries, which pay quotas in order to continue the development of standards.

How the ISO organisation financied?

The ISO is financed through other organisations which have experts who provide technical work, through subscriptions from member bodies and selling standards.

ISO standards and different types

ISO 9001

The ISO 9001 writes the standards of a System Quality Management.  It does so by guides and tools that ensure the quality of products and services businesses. All types of businesses, from SMEs to large companies, can be certified with ISO 9001, regardless of economic activity.

The certificate ISO 9001 is customer focused. Also it encourages all workers certified company and impacts the direction, achieving continuous learning and improvement .

Benefits of ISO 9001iso, iso 9001, certificado, calidad

The implementation of ISO 9001 by the company means great benefits:

  • Structural benefits that will become economic benefits;
  • Power participation of senior management of the company;
  • confidence to our customers is generated.

ISO 14001

The ISO 14001  is the standard that focuses on environmental management. This standard is getting priorities identify and manage potential occupational hazards that can be generated in a company derived from its usual activity.

Any company, whatever its activity, turnover, sector, location or size, can be certified in ISO 14001.

iso, iso 14001, certificado, medioambiente, medio ambienteBenefits of ISO 14001

  • Cost reduction;
  • Compliance with environmental legislation;
  • Avoid duplication of effort;
  • Have a competitive advantage over the competition;
  • Easy to compliance with other ISO or OHSAS certifications.

ISO 22000

The ISO 22000 focuses on health and food safety . This international standard sets requirements that companies must be involved in the chain of food production, from the company that prepares the food product itself to preparing packaging for transport.

Benefits of ISO 22000iso, iso 22000, certificado, alimentación, comida, industria, restaurante

  • Implement international processes;
  • Comply with and enforce legislation;
  • Build trust among customers and suppliers;
  • Control and eliminate risks to food security;
  • Trust among consumers;
  • Implement transparency within the company;
  • Continuous improvement and update the various business processes.

ISO 45001

Standard ISO 45001 assures health and safety at workplace. Existing since March 2018, as a substitute of OHSAS 18001, standard ISO 45001 stablishes the minimum requirements which every copany should comply and have in mind in order to improve their daily activities and thus minimise working hazards.

iso, iso 45001, ohsas, ohsas 18001, seguridad, trabajo, lugar de trabajo, workplace; safety; workers; helmet

Benefits of standard ISO 45001

  • Find and identify possible hazards in the workplace;
  • Solve mistakes which could provoke occupational hazards;
  • Modify working conditions in order to improve them;
  • Having a better organisation of the company;
  • Minimise accidents in the workplace;
  • Reduce sick leaves provoked by bad praxis in the workplace;
  • Decrease both the costs and the lengths of sick leaves;
  • Prove, therefore, conformity to clients and providers.
Do you still have doubts about What is ISO? Would you like to certify your company in one -or more- of these standards? If so, do not doubt of getting in contact with us through the following form. We will be delighted to help you and your copmany!

Nombre (requerido)

Teléfono (requerido) Introduce el prefijo de tu pais

Correo electrónico (requerido)




About the Author:

Leave A Comment

This site uses third party cookies in order to improve the user experience. Take a look at our cookies policy.

Aviso de cookies